Name:

Sam Gogan

Where do you call home?

Maryland. Silver Spring area

What were you doing before you joined Peace Corps?

I was finishing my Master of Public Policy degree at University of Maryland

Weirdest/most specific/interesting item you brought to country with you?

Skateboard

First impressions of Nicaragua? What surprised you most?

I was surprised by my first “rainy season” experience.

Funny anecdote from training/service so far?

Learned this dicho from my host mom during training: “Amor de lejos, amor de pendejos.”

Best Spanish mistake?

I can’t say comb that well

Favorite Nica food?

#gallopinto

What do you hope to accomplish in your service?

I hope to help my counterparts with their English speaking and teaching skills. When I leave, I want them to be better off compared to when I arrived.

What do you miss most from home?

My family, S.O., friends, and independence.