Name:

Nico Stubler

Sector:

EEP

Where are you from?

Colonized Ute Territory, in what is now called Grand Junction, Colorado

Major:

International Political Economy

What were you doing before you joined Peace Corps?

I was completing my Undergrad degree at the University of Denver, and organizing within the Climate Justice movement with a number of different groups.

What do you anticipate to be your greatest challenge?

Finding a balance between maintaining my strongly held ethical and spiritual values while effectively integrating into my community (It was a challenge I have had in the United States as well).

Biggest Spanish mistake?

Using “me gusta” when describing other aspirantes and people I have met with my host family – for a while they all thought I had a lot of crushes!!

What do you hope to accomplish in your service?

I hope to sincerely benefit the lives of individuals in my community. I hope to shift perspectives regarding the United States and its citizenry, and challenge some of the common norms often attributed to the United States.

What is something you have done in Nicaragua that you never thought you would do?

I have become markedly more passionate about my values surrounding animal liberation.

First impressions of Nicaragua? I have been astounded by the hospitality and openness with which I have been received – it has surpassed all of my expectations.

What surprised you most about Nicaragua?

It has been a lot drier than I anticipated (though I realize that these months and the region in which I have been living have perhaps not been representative).

Would you consider dating a Nicaraguan?

Yes, absolutely, if I were to find a Nicaraguan who shares my beliefs and passions.

What do you miss most from home?

Home cooking, especially salads, brown rice, and lentils.

Favorite Nica food so far?

Malanga, Quiquisque, and Yucca in soup. Yum!

