Name:

Kali (Kay-Lee) Pauling

Sector:

Salud!

Where are you from?

Never really sure how best to answer this question… St. Louis, Colorado, Oregon (take your pick)

Major:

International Studies

What were you doing before you joined Peace Corps?

I did two terms of AmeriCorps service for a college access program, working with low-income high school students in Portland OR.

What do you anticipate to be your greatest challenge?

Chagas, just kidding. Probably Spanish, but every day it gets easier and easier.

Funny anecdotes from training?

During our technical training on creating materials, we were given coloring sheets to work on. I was coloring away and completely oblivious that my picture was one of the condom steps until Dina pointed that out… all I can say is that I choose all the wrong colors and in general had a lot to learn about condoms during training.

Biggest Spanish mistake?

Realistically verb tenses, but funniest “mistake” was using vos with my host sister’s boyfriend… not really sure why my host mom thought it was hilarious, but I just went with it.

What do you hope to accomplish in your service?

I am hoping to make amazing connections with people!

What is something you have done in Nicaragua that you never thought you would do?

Give an HIV Charla at a skate park, on the actual skate platform surrounded by young men, and absolutely love that non-formal education setting.

First impressions of Nicaragua?

Breathtakingly beautiful, I can’t wait to explore all that Nicaragua has to offer.

What surprised you most about Nicaragua?

How warm and welcoming everyone has been: PCS, PCV, PCT, and especially all the locals in Santa Teresa.

Would you consider dating a Nicaraguan?

Well I certainly shouldn’t since I’m serving with my partner

What do you miss most from home?

Dark chocolate and going to great happy hour spots with friends

Favorite Nica food so far?

If melon fresco counts as a food, definitely that. But if not, sopa de frijoles con salsa picante.

