Who are you?

Andrea René Franke

What do you like to go by?

Andrea (pronounced the Spanish way!)

Where do you call home?

Portland, Oregon is where I was born and spent the first 23 years of my life. However, a RPCV from The Gambia once told me that home is something that is internal and once you have it you can be at home no matter where you are in the world. I would say that is a meta of mine.

Why did you join the Peace Corps?

A million different reasons. You will have to ask me in person.

What is one thing you want to do while in Nicaragua?

Feel like my work is actually making a sustainable impact on the Nicaraguans I am working with.

What is your perfect pizza?

Anyone ever tried the breadsticks at Sparky’s Pizza in Portland? They are the best.

How did you meet your best friend?

I met my best friend in 6th grade Latin class. We hated it and bonded over it. People who know me well will hear me talk about my best friend all the time. She’s the best!

Who is a character from a TV show or a book that you’ve always resonated with?

I would say I am a cross between Blair Waldorf from Gossip Girl and Hermione Granger from Harry Potter.


Are you an PCV in Nica 68 (or an older group) but haven’t yet responded to the Entrance Interview Qs? Never fear, the questions are here.

