Name:

Amelia Evans

Site and Sector:

San Lorenzo, Boaco. Environment

Project assignment: 

Co-plan and co-teach science with 4 teachers

Project reality: 

Providing free babysitting for a multitude of necias but wonderful neighborhood niñas.

Did you have an apodo during service?

Ame.

Most and/or least useful thing/experience brought into country:


This laundry plunger. They ship directly to Peace Corps Volunteers!

What do you wish you had done here? 

Milked a cow.

Most creative way you killed time in your site: 

My mom sent me a bunch of pairs of post cards from my home state (Hawaii).  I pasted paper on the back and turned them into a memory game to play with the neighborhood niñas while also teaching them a little bit about where I’m from.

What books/podcasts/shows/movies did you get hooked on during your service that you would like to recommend to other volunteers? 

Book: Middlesex / Podcast: 2 Dope Queens / Show: The Wire / Movie: The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

Most Nicaraguan habit you’ll take home with you: 

Lip pointing.

What will you miss six months from now

Baking and chatting about life with my best friend in site.

What will you not miss six months from now

Piropos.

How have you changed during your service? 

Let’s just say I throw a little more elbow when I’m getting onto a bus now.

Did you ever want to ET?

Yes… and I actually did in August to take my current teaching job.

Big plans for your readjustment allowance? 

Gourmet cheese and Hamilton tickets.

What’s next? 

Teaching Spanish at a private high school.

Final words of advice: 

“The world will see you the way YOU see you, and treat you the way you treat yourself.” –Beyoncé.

