Name

Michelle Zaragoza

Site and Sector

Juigalpa, Chontales. Environment 64

Project assignment

Primary environmental educator

Project reality

Taking hours creating the perfect materials for classes that NEVER happen while eating WAY TOO many tajadas.

Did you have an apodo during service?

ipichelpe (in site)

Most and/or least useful thing/experience brought into country:

Most useful: my tablet (I used it in class, on buses, everywhere).

What do you wish you had done here?

Learned how to make a traditional meal, I don’t know why I never did.

Most creative way you killed time in your site:

Pinterest, not even gonna lie.

What books/podcasts/shows/movies did you get hooked on during your service that you would like to recommend to other volunteers?

Game of Thrones, Parks and Rec, How I met your mother.

What will you miss six months from now?

My family and endless free food.

What will you not miss six months from now?

Cold showers, dirt everywhere, and ATMs running out of money.

How have you changed during your service?

I let things go more easily now. I’m not bothered so much when something just doesn’t work out.

Did you ever want to ET?

Oh yeah! Still remember the exact date too (17 months into service).

Big plans for your readjustment allowance?

Replace the electronics Nicaragua has slowly consumed.

What’s next?

Finish my last semester of grad school and start teaching middle school science.

Final words of advice:

Best advice I ever received and I just have to pass it on: Leave your house EVERY day. Even if it’s just for 5 minutes to go buy toilet paper across the street. We can so easily get sucked up into our rooms with movie marathons (I’ve been there), but why not let people see you are alive and not becoming part of the furniture.

