Who are you?

My name is Khalan Boyer

What do you like to go by?

Khalan

Where do you call home?

Northern Virginia, right outside Washington, D.C.

Why did you join the Peace Corps?

After working for several years in corporate America, I decided to join the Peace Corps so that I could be involved in more meaningful, fulfilling work. I had a strong desire to improve my Spanish, to live outside of the U.S. and to positively impact communities on a local level.

What is one thing you want to do while in Nicaragua? 

I want to learn how to salsa dance!

What is your perfect pizza? 

I LOVE pizza. Perfect pizza would be the Neopolitan La Divaola pizza — a crust that is thin and soft with a bit of a crunch, fresh tomato sauce, mozzarella and basil with spicy sausage.

How did you meet your best friend? 

I met my very best friend on the first day of pre-kindergarten when I was 4-years old.

In your opinion, what is the best Disney movie to come out? 

Now that’s a really tough question…I would probably say Little Mermaid.

Who is a character from a TV show or a book that you’ve always resonated with?

Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City

What have you always wanted? Did you ever get it?

I’ve always wanted to live abroad…and now here I am in Nicaragua!

Do you believe in pinky promises?

Absolutely!

What’s your Netflix binging addiction?

Peaky Blinders


Continue to follow Khalan’s (and her sister’s) adventures at walkingthefringe.com

Are you an PCV in Nica 67 (or older group) but haven’t yet responded to the Entrance Interview Qs? Never fear, the questions are here.

