Who are you?

Debby Drew

What do you like to go by? 

Debby in English; Deborah in Spanish

Where do you call home? 

Peace Dale, Rhode Island

Why did you join the Peace Corps?

I love being a part of a community that is totally different from the one I grew up in.  I love learning another language.  I love being a front line ambassador and giving the USA a different face than the one that is portrayed on TV and in the movies.

What is one thing you want to do while in Nicaragua? 

Learn a few folklorica dances.

How did you meet your best friend? 

When I was 12 I went to an international summer camp in New Hampshire that was run by a 32 year old woman named Natalie.  She was American and was married to a Swiss man. They lived in Switzerland where they ran an international school together.  I continued going back to the camp each summer and spent 10th grade at the school in Switzerland.  After I graduated from college I taught at the school for a couple of years.  By the time I was in my early 20s, Natalie had become a good friend, a mentor, a confident, a surrogate mother and my role model.  She was the best friend I ever had and we remained good friends until her death at age 86 when I was 66.  We had a 54 year friendship.

In your opinion, what is the best Disney movie to come out? 

Old Yeller.

Who is a character from a TV show or a book that you’ve always resonated with? 

Phoebe in The Catcher and the Rye.  Her older brother Holden was a troubled teen as was my older brother Walter.  Walter and I always had a special connection, like Phoebe and Holden.


Continue to follow Debby’s (and her husband’s) adventures through their blog: John and Deb in Nicaragua.

Are you an PCV in Nica 65 (or older group) but haven’t yet responded to the Entrance Interview Qs? Never fear, the questions are here.

